Caribbean Reef Villas a Truly "On the Beach" Vacation Experience
- english, german
Check-in: 4:00 PM
Check-out: 11:00 AM
if found out deposit will be lost
Minimum age of primary renter:25
Canceled bookings will not receive a refund
I reserved this place as a 20th Anniversary surprise for my wife. Super excited!!!
Having been to Touristy Mexico several times. I was stoked about the idea of a quiet sleepy town like Puerto Morelos. Nice Condo, beautiful beach, great pool, talk of wildlife in the water, nice times on the beach and the clear waters of the Caribbean Ocean that are represented in the pictures for this and other properties for the Caribbean Reefs Villas.
Not the case. We arrived at the Caribbean Reefs Villas and were appalled at the state of the property.
The instant we entered the property there was the overwhelming smell of mold and/or mildew. My wife instantly had an allergic/respiratory issue.
Arlene, Property Manager, very sweet, turned on the A/C, I believe to circulate the air and dissuade us from noticing the smell.
She gave us a tour of the property. It was not a large property, pretty small, pictures make it look more spacious than what it is, however, perfect for what I was looking for.
She took us to the balcony to look out at what was supposed to be the gorgeous view. It was a major disappointment.
We opened the sliding door and were hit with another terrible smell. Some kind of dead animal or rotting vegetation. There was 30 feet worth of rotting seaweed on the beach and who knows how much waiting to come in, I estimate at least another 30 feet, more than likely 50 feet in the Ocean. I took a picture, I cannot upload it.
We asked Arlene about the seaweed and she stated that it would not be cleaned up until Martes/Tuesday. We both exclaimed, "Martes?!"
Arlene shrugged her shoulders and stated, "That's Puerto Morelos!" Not meanly, she was very nice. She left.
It was Friday and I felt it was unacceptable to have to deal with this horrendous smell and lack of beach/ocean access for 5 days.
I could not get a hold of Karl, the owner.
Worried our Vacation would be ruined. I found a property in Cancun, through VRBO, contacted Arlene to get us a Taxi.
Beaches at Cancun property cleared daily.
I have tried to get a refund from the owner Karl. He has repeatedly tried to convince me that Arlene was wrong about the clean up time and said he was there the day before and that there wasn't any mold or a dirty beach. Not true!
I will send my pictures to if needed.
I should have been wary when someone mentions a water leak in the ceiling, mold. Benefit of the doubt. He also tries to get you to sign a rental agreement to avoid the VRBO fees.
For 15 years I have provided a comfortable and enjoyable beach front vacation experience and never have I had a more unpleasant situation with a renter. From his letter to VRBO I found out, that he had already booked a different place BEFORE he even arrived, apparently second guessing his decision not having booked directly in Cancun. Trying to finagle a refund from me, he quickly conjured up a complaint and left before the property manager even had a chance to accommodate him.
He complained that the beach wasn’t cleaned and immediately after he emailed me, I contacted the property manager and she assured me that the beach would be cleaned the next day! At this point he did not mention any indication of mold, let alone his wife’s allergic/respiratory reaction! It is peculiar to me that he made no mention of this serious health issue in his first email but rather was concerned with the beach cleanup. A serious matter as this seems it should take priority in addressing; instead he mentioned it like an afterthought, as he later in the communication about his refund request suddenly included mold in his complaint. He read about a small water leak we experienced quite some time back, which was quickly repaired. It became apparent that this individual was using the buzzword “mold” to extort a refund. Since I had just come back from a visit, I was certain about the good condition of my condo. There is no mold. To be on the safe side I again contacted the property manager and again she assured me, there is no mold. Despite this and as a gesture of goodwill I offered him a refund, but apparently this wasn’t big enough. When he took his “story” to VRBO/Homeawy and they turned him down, he changed his tactics. He blackmailed me and threatened to leave a bad review if he didn’t get a refund.
For the protection of my guests I offer and provide a rental agreement, which has nothing to do with any fees .
I am bothered deeply by this individual’s tactics, as I take pride in the rental experience I offer and I understand how important and precious anybody’s vacation is. I truly feel fortunate that all other of my reviews positively speak for themselves and I look forward to many more.
A Room With A (spectucular) View!
Prior to arrival Karl was easy to contact and quick to respond to emails and answer questions. Upon arrival, the condo was all we hoped it would be and more. After using Canada Transfers from the airport (highly recommend), we arrived quite late at night and thankfully managed to get into the condo easily with the code Karl had supplied. The condo itself was spacious and clean and the views from both the balcony and master bedroom were nothing short of spectacular. Our mornings were spent drinking coffee on the balcony while enjoying the warm breeze and beautiful Caribbean. Each day our little "visitor" (a sweet bird ) would greet us hoping for a crumb or 2. Inside the unit the furniture was comfortable with a spacious dining table for 6 as well as very comfortable balcony furniture which we took advantage of daily. The master bedroom has a very firm king sized bed which we both loved and there are various shelves and ample closet space to accommodate your clothing. As well, there was a futon sofa/mattress which was comfortable and could easily sleep another adult (or 2 children) . We did not make use of the 2nd bedroom but noted it also had a large bed, lots of dresser space and an ensuite bathroom. The kitchen had plenty of space in which to maneuver and was well stocked with all the necessities including a corkscrew for the wine 👍�😉�. The living room had a sofa, love seat, and a TV for viewing DVDs only. The wifi worked well and Arlene was readily available to answer any of our questions as was Fernando for any maintenance issues (we had none). The condo development is nicely kept with beautiful foliage and plants throughout the premises. The pool is ridiculously large (in a good way) with ample chairs and umbrellas. Caribbean Reef Villas is located a pleasant 15 minute walk to the town which we enjoyed doing daily. We felt safe the entire time and did not feel the need to take a taxi with the exception of the day we grocery shopped. The town of Puerto Morelos itself is charming with multiple amazing eating establishments and little booths with locals selling their goods. We loved the town, the people and the laid back vibe of Puerto Morelos and definitely hope to be back one day. Karl's unit is perfectly situated for a peaceful, relaxing vacation. The pictures on the website are an accurate depiction of the unit and the property. If you are looking for a relaxing getaway to a beautiful part of Mexico, I would highly recommend Karl's unit.
Thank you so much for your kind words and the time you took to write a review. I am happy that I could help you to have a memorable vacation and I am looking forward to have you back soon!!! Thank you.
This is a great apartment with wonderful views. My group enjoyed their stay. We had quite a issue with the ceiling leaking in the bathroom so had to keep towels on the floor to soak it up. Arlene was always available and she tried her best to help. Sounds like the ceiling will be repaired soon so it is probably not going to affect anyone else. The pool area is wonderful and we loved walking into town.
Aw .....thank you for your kind words and the trouble of leaving a review. I am happy you enjoyed your vacation! If only I had know earlier about the ceiling, it wouldn't have bee an issue at all. Also I am happy to report that the issue is resolved and I am looking forward to host you again soon. Thank you very much.
Excellent Location in Puerto Morelos
Our family thoroughly enjoyed our stay in Karl's unit and everything was as described in the listing. It is a convenient walk into Puerto Morelos, which has numerous shops and restaurants (we didn't have a bad meal our entire stay) and is much more laid back than the hustle and bustle of Cancun. We often had the pool to ourselves and snorkeled right off the beach a number of times observing a multitude of tropical fish, rays, starfish and conch shells. Additionally, the location of the condo is a convenient launch point for day trips to the Mayan ruins, cenotes and other attractions in the area. All around, a great experience.
Chris, thank you so much for the trouble leaving your review on my listing, I very much appreciate it and I am so glad you had a good time. I am looking forward to have you back soon! Thank you Karl
Perfect condo in Puerto Morelos
Our stay in Puerto Morelos was wonderful, and the condo was perfect. It was clean, comfortable and well accommodated. Arlene was always close by and helpful with any questions. The entire staff at Caribbean Reef was always helpful. The owner, Karl, replied to our emails very timely and ensured we were well taken care of.
Every restaurant we ate at in town was incredible, I could not pick a favorite. We went diving and snorkeling with Diverspoint who I would highly recommend.
thank you so very much for your kind words and thank you for trusting me with you precious vacation.
I am so glad you had a good time and I am looking forward to have you back soon.
Small Town Feel with Anazing Viee
Karl’s unit is on the outskirts of a wonderful city that has an authentic vibe, great restaurants, a free access public beach with incredible snorkeling. The unit is spacious with a fantastic sunrise view void of the artificial all inclusive experience. Terrific support from the property management team who were very responsive
Thank you so much for your trouble of leaving a review. i am glad you had a good time and enjoyed your stay. I am looking forward to have you again soon!