4 bedroom comfortable well equipped house on acreage away from the crowds.
- 100% refund if you cancel at least 30 days before check-in.
- 50% refund (minus the service fee) if you cancel at least 14 days before check-in.
- No refund if you cancel less than 14 days before check-in.
Damage and incidentals
You will be responsible for any damage to the rental property caused by you or your party during your stay.
No parties/events - Please contact owner to discuss eventsPlease contact owner to discuss events
Max guests: 8
Outstanding in many ways
Magical environment, well equipped and spacious property, excellent support from the owner. Cannot daily this. Perfect for a retreat, rest, rejuvenation.
We are so glad that you had the opportunity to experience the property at this crazy time and hope that it provides you with a recent memory to call upon as we face the challenges of the upcoming weeks.
We stayed here to attend a wedding in the Megalong valley. The location was stunning and the house was very well set up and had everything we needed. We were able to have a late checkout which made the whole weekend even better. Thank you!
Thank you for your lovely message when you left the property and for your review we hope you will visit again soon
No power. No water. No food. Separated from our 3 week old baby
Upon arrival the information given to us regarding the access across the creek was incorrect. We were advised that they could get us across with a 4wd or tractor.
My wife and I were required to work at a wedding on the first night. We left our baby at the property with my wife’s parents. The creek flooded and left us unable to get back to the property and my parents in-law unable to get out.
We were told there was nothing to be done we’d just have to wait. You can imagine the mothers state.
After several hours I decided to cross anyway and made it through. At least we were now with our baby.
The next two days were spent cut off by 1.8m floodwaters with no power, no running water and not much food. One of us missed a flight to Brisbane.
There are several risks associated with renting this property that are not adequately explained.
Beware of the weather and the associated support.
I am deeply saddened that this guest experienced a difficult time while staying at our property, however the circumstances of the weekend were totally beyond my control. The guest was advised prior to arrival that there was rain forecast and that the creek could rise. The party chose to cross the already rising creek on Saturday afternoon and were advised at that time that if the rain continued, they may be unable to leave until the rain stopped and therefore they should ensure that they had sufficient food and drinks for the duration of their stay. The rain which followed was far in excess of what was anticipated or forecast resulting in extensive flooding across the state with at least half of the properties in the valley being cut off by high flood waters from the creek which crosses a number of roads across the valley. Warragamba Dam rose from critically low to over 80% as a result of the rain which fell in the 24 hours from Saturday night. The power outage which the guests experienced was extremely widespread including all of the Valley and neigbouring towns as well as large parts of the rest of the State. During this event, the house was warm and dry with gas cooking facilities, a log fire with ample supplies of firewood, an outside tap with running water and stocks of candles. The instructions sent prior to arrival also state that power to the Valley can be a little erratic (although it is generally now very reliable) and we advise guests to bring a torch or two in case of this eventuality. I tried as best I could to remain in contact with the guests at the house and passed on regular updates on the state of the creek from our neigbour to keep the guests informed. At some point before Monday morning, their mobile phones stopped working due to the power outage so it was no longer possible to communicate with them, but there was no way that anyone could have assisted them to cross the creek on Sunday as the water was by then 2 metres above the road. This is the first time in 16 years of renting the property that the water level has risen to a level where the creek was any more than a few cm over the road while we had guests in the house. It was an extreme weather event and while I regret the distress caused to the guests, I do not feel that the property presents unexplained risks or that the support we offer as hosts is questionable. We greatly enjoy being able to share our piece of paradise with our guests but unfortunately, on this occasion, nature was not on our side.
Serenity & Space
Wonderful property, easy-going hosts and amazing vistas !
Thanks! We're glad you enjoyed your stay
Best weekend of our lives.
The house and property were gorgeous and equipped with all the things including stuff we wouldn't have thought of. Suzanne let us hold our small wedding there and it was the best weekend of our lives!
This is what makes it worthwhile for us! Thank you so much you brought a tear to my eye and I hope it will be the start of a very happy life for you. Please come back for a visit, maybe for your anniversary!
About Suzanne Lemlin
We're a family of 4 with 2 kids who live in Sydney. We spent 2 wonderful years living at the property before the kids started high school. We love the outdoors and are slowly nibbling away at the property to make it more accessible but we just love coming here to escape the city and are very happy to be able to share it with other people.
Suzanne Lemlin purchased this House in 2003
Why Suzanne Lemlin chose Megalong Valley
The property is hard to capture on photographs. There is a and tranquility about it which you can only experience by being there. There's so much space to relax and spend time with friends and family but enough different areas to have me time too. The wildlife is amazing with regular visits from wallabies and wombats, amazing birds and the occasional echidna if you are lucky. The days pass with an ever changing array of sounds of the bush and sights as the weather rolls around the mountains. It is typically 5-10 degrees warmer in the valley than up in the towns of the mountains so while it may be freezing in Blackheath, we can be enjoying balmy sunshine in the valley. It is a place to truly relax and unwind, surrounded by the beauty of the bush and with space to explore and run around, or just sit and take it all in while you recharge.
What makes this House unique
Peace and tranquility, amazing views, wildlife visiting every day, fabulous birdlife, stunning night skies, red rocks of the escarpment at sunset.